I have been reflecting for the past few days on the way God has been changing my mind and my heart as I seek to trust in his truth instead of the lies I have been told and believed all my life. Earlier, on my way to a friend’s house, I was talking with a friend on the phone about the “Aldersgate Day” experience I had on Sunday and how I had realized that without my noticing it, my heart had changed somehow.

I was talking about the storm I have been walking through for the past couple of years and how I was beginning to see myself turning a corner…that I was still in the dark, pouring rain, but I could see the place where the storm ceased and that there was light beginning to touch my face. I felt like there was joy and hope returning to my soul, but sinking much deeper than before.

So, on my way home from my friend’s house a while ago, I was driving through this dark, pouring rain. Then, as I got on the bypass, I saw the sun start blazing through the clouds. As I got closer to the highway that leads me home, I saw the place where blue sky was showing. Mind you, I am still in the midst of this dark storm, and there is water pouring down on my car. But, I can feel the sunlight on my face and see blue skies on the other side.

So, I started taking pictures at the red light and thinking about how much this weather phenomena happened to resemble my current circumstance. I traveled farther down, and as I turned a curve in the road, I came face-to-face with the brightest and most complete double rainbow I have ever seen. My breath was taken away…so much so, that I pulled over in an empty parking lot and got out of my car to take pictures. I was so in awe of the promise of God that we would not be utterly destroyed. When I got back in the car and started to drive away, the song, “Praise You in this Storm” by Casting Crowns came on the radio. I wept all the way home.

 

IMG_20150526_202629  IMG_20150526_202930  IMG_20150526_203327

 

IMG_20150526_203444    IMG_20150526_203439

IMG_20150526_203542   IMG_20150526_203457

IMG_20150526_203532   IMG_20150526_203547

